Product Review – Silicone Pastry & Basting Brush

#siliconebrush available at http://www.amazon.com/ORBLUE-Silicone-Pastry-Basting-Brush-Green/dp/B01D5JTKSU

I have always had a little bit of a mental problem with basting brushes, because in my mind, I could never see them getting clean enough after use – particularly at the base of the bristles where they connect to the brush – and I just found that gross.

Well, someone came up with a solution to that problem. This silicone basting and pastry brush is the answer. I did not do a side-by-side comparison, but this brush holds a lot of liquid, and releases it easily when applied. It might require more dipping than a standard basting brush but to me, the idea that I can actually clean this thing more than makes up for the slight extra effort that may be required.

This item has 4 rows of 17 silicone “bristles”, which have just enough texture to grab and hold the liquid you are wanting to use, while still being easy to clean. I did notice a tendency for them to clump together when wet, but that doesn’t seem to impede the functionality. Although droplets do form at the end of the bristles, they hold on pretty well until you get ready to brush your food item.

You can easily see the base of the bristles from both the flat and the end sides of the brush to make sure you have everything good and clean. Yeah, in case you haven’t guessed yet, this is seriously a major issue for me; and being able to see that it is CLEAN really reassures me from a hygiene standpoint.

img_0358img_0352

The bristles did look a little wonky in the package, which had me concerned, but they immediately straightened out once I pulled the brush out.

I highly recommend this item. There are enough concerns about food safety these days that anything we can do to make cooking safer for ourselves is probably a good idea.

I received this at a discount for my honest and unbiased review.

Leave a Reply

